Chúc Mừng Năm Mới

by stephenpham

photos by stephen galka

photos by stephen galka

photos by stephen galka

photos by stephen galka

photos by stephen galka

*H&M Trend shirt
*Vero Moda cardigan
*Forever21 pants
*H&M scarf
*Alexander Wang bag
*Gram shoes

photos by stephen galka

First, I would love to say Chúc Mừng Năm Mới, to everyone! In translation, Happy New Years, in Vietnamese. The Lunar New Year fell on February fifth this year and I definitely forgot about it due to the fact that I’ve been so crazy with work. I didn’t realize it till I went to this Vietnamese restaurant I often go to for lunch and the employees greeted me with a “Chúc Mừng Năm Mới!” It then totally clicked in my head and I just thought, “Oh yeah…” Well, my Mommy did give me some lucky money! Obviously, in tradition, she gave it in a little red envelope. Though I’d like to think that my family is pretty Canadian, we hold onto a lot of tradition. We do a serious, massive clean up of the house before New Years, fresh flowers to put up on the shrine, fruit to be blessed and lighting up incents with saying some little prayers.

Normally in tradition you’re suppose to go to the temple the night before or day of, in my world, things like that can only happen on a Sunday. So yesterday, my mommy, my sister, Kevin and I decided to go to the temple in the evening. I haven’t been in a very, very, very long time and sometimes it’s good to get in touch with your spiritual side. Gave my prayers, what I wished for this year, my donation and my blessed orange; that comes with a little paper fortune. The fortune is always in Vietnamese and quite honestly my Vietnamese is so broken that I have to get my Mommy to read it to me, then translate it in a way I would understand. Well, thankfully, it was “good”!

I wouldn’t consider myself religious, even though I think Buddhism is a way of life. I always try to think things logically or try to find logic answers but it’s funny how tradition runs and it sticks with you. With a lot of Asian things, there’s plenty of superstition to go with everything but I got to admit, I hate missing out on going to the temple for New Years, otherwise it just doesn’t feel right and I’m definitely glad that I made it out this year. So again, Happy New Years to everyone, I wish you the best of luck and health. May things go your way and if it doesn’t, always remember things always happen for a reason. It may not be obvious at first but you’ll understand what that means later on in life.

Wee! Groundhog says “Early Spring!”

