Feeling Spring

by stephenpham

photo source by style.com

I know, I know, everyone is probably on a high with all the pre-fall 2011 collections and now the fall 2011 collections are coming out but let’s be realistic here. Exactly what season is coming up next and what season will you be shopping for? Spring. So here are a few of my favourite looks from spring 2011!

What I adore about these four looks from 3.1 Phillip Lim are the proportions and the pieces alone. I’m not a huge fan of paisley but I love the velvet paisley print on the jacket, it just adds such an amazing texture to a soft and simple outfit. I’ll definitely be on the hunt for leather shorts this year, if I could find any, I know it will be difficult. An instant love-at-first sight ordeal – the double-breasted leather jacket. Note, what I love most about the leather jacket is the 3/4 length sleeve which I find rare in menswear but I love it and hopefully I will be rocking it. The grey blazer layered on top of a leather zippered shirt is also such a fun twist for menswear. You’ll be sweating if it’s warm out but thank god you’ll be looking amazing.

photo source by style.com

For all the boys out there who love a bit of a romantic look, Alexis Mabille was definitely the collection to be peaking at for spring. Alexis Mabille is new to my list and I will be watching out for the fall collection. A little trend that I noticed this spring were all the little rompers and jumpers – it makes me excited! Like this little romper number with the drawstring waist. I love everything about it and I want it in my closet! Also, I’m loving the fact that a lot of designers are showing real shorts and not just shorts below your knee. Its nice when men aren’t shy about their legs. So show it off boys! One of the most amazing jackets I’ve seen in all the collections. I enjoy the drawstring hem and the construction of the sleeve. I’m also just a sucker for motor-style zips. The bow tie gives a nice whimsy touch. Nothing makes more than a statement then a complete printed suit, paired down with a black shirt and an adorable bow tie. Something I’m also going to keep my eye out this spring for.

photo source by style.com

The collection, that tops all collections for me usually is Burberry Prorsum Mens but this season I wasn’t overly impressed. It was nice but didn’t make a favourite for me this year. Christopher Bailey touched based on studs again, it was a nice touch but also felt a little too familiar from a previous season. I like the heather grey trousers paired with a scoop neck sweater, layered with a leather jacket – a great casual look for every man. The studded leather coat is a fierce look and I’m sure could be a possible DIY. Of course to top off everything studded, a bag that looks amazing but sure enough, it probably weighs a ton but don’t worry, it looks good.

photo source by style.com

A collection that left me in awe, Givenchy was very memorable. I enjoyed a lot of the looks and what could be very feminine pieces – looked very masculine, like the sheer button up shirt with a front panel. I loved the leather pants (though it does remind me of the episode of Ross from Friends and his ordeal with leather pants) with the crisp white shirt and what more fun could Riccardo Tisci could have done with the look? He added a long sleeve shirt with a leopard print – loves it. Nothing is more amazing than this jumper that Givenchy has created, it drives me crazy how wonderful this piece is and what a surprise, I WANT IT. My obsession for leopard continues with this casual cut jacket in a leopard print – it looks butch with a punch. Notice the nylons on the last look – I really wish this would catch on. I enjoy it very much.

photo source from style.com

