Alley Cat

by stephenpham

photo by stephen galka

photo by stephen galka

photo by stephen galka

photo by stephen galka

photo by stephen galka

*H&M Trend shirt
*Forever21 jeggings
*Pyrrah necklace & own
*H&M belt
*M0851 bag
*Zara shoes

photos by stephen galka

On our last day in Victoria, our plan was to drive up to Nanaimo and take the ferry back to Vancouver from there but something stopped us and we decided to quickly check out Chinatown. We ended up parking the car, paying for a days worth because it was cheaper and decided we should find a place to eat.

Victorias’ Chinatown is quaint and colourful. The trees are trimmed to look bonsai and all the light posts are painted red. My expectations were none, as I sometime stroll through Chinatown in Vancouver and most of the times, I’m not overly “wowed”. After stopping from store to store, I remember walking by this alley, thinking to myself how peculiar it was. I was curious and had this urge to stroll in. Where I entered into the alley, no more than one person can honestly walk through. It was so narrow but once you got past that part, it opened up to a new area where there were apartment doors painted red, a barber shop, a vintage store, a gallery and other small shops.

It was quite jolting in a way where I felt like Alice, going through the rabbit hole. I honestly was thinking to myself, “Is this for real or what?” I found out that I was standing in Fan Tan Alley. It was originally a gambling district with restaurants and opium dens. It’s also apparently the narrowest street in Canada. The alley is narrowest point is 0.9 metres wide. Cute, eh?

