A Shopping Series: Rook & Rose

by stephenpham

photos by stephen galka

photos by stephen galka

photos by stephen galka

Rook & Rose
569 Johnson Street
Victoria, B.C.
V8W 1M2

250-590-2072
http://www.rookandrose.com
erica@rookandrose.com

Have you ever walked by a space and was so instantly in awe? That’s exactly what happened to me when I was strolling along Johnson Street and passed by Rook & Rose. Now let me say this, flower boutiques don’t do much for me. I appreciate well put together flower arrangements when I see it but I would never bother even exploring a flower shop. Something really caught me about this shop though; it felt like Rook & Rose had its own glow, it felt personal and had a warmth to the space as well. Located in an entrance to an office building, Rook & Rose has utilized and decorated the space in such a style that is awe-inspiring. The space consists of a beautiful yet simple arch entry, a white hearth and a ceiling that felt almost too tall for the space but was perfect to place a chandelier.

Erica, the owner and lead designer of the boutique was especially fun. It almost felt like she had created the boutique as an extension to her personality. Only being a month into this venture, Erica already has a few humorous stories to tell. One such story is, Erica gets people strolling into the store, sit down on the leather ottoman, read the magazines and then walking away leaving, not realizing that they were just in a floral boutique. Erica also always has a special friend, Lola. Lola, is a loveable lady who appreciates attention and always willing to give a kiss.

Rook & Rose gave me a nudge of surprise and awe that I needed. This was a twist of style and inspiration that I didn’t expect to receive from a floral boutique and a motivation that I can’t explain, that I would love to one day achieve. Move over floral shops in Victoria, there’s a tough rook to beat!

photos by stephen galka

photos by stephen galka

photos by stephen galka

photos by stephen galka

